Site Map Video Gallery Photo Gallery Travel Tips Faq


13 Feb
Armenia Visa policy

New Visa Policy of Armenia 2017

The republic of Armenia – a beautiful Caucasian country located in the crossroads of Europe and Asian – is receiving a lot of recognition from foreign countries, tourists and even from its own locals due to the outstretched-welcoming-hand it’s offering to the world. Driven by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs MFA efforts to make Armenia the only traveler’s landing hub in the Caucasian region, the country’s aims at boosting tourism and the business cooperation in very many diverse ways.

And one of the diverse ways is cutting off the former visa stringent rules and policies by increasing the number of countries that can visit her without visa requirements. Recently, Armenia signed an agreement with the United Arabs Emirates UAE over the elimination of a visa regime.

Before then, United Arabs Emirate citizens would obtain their visa upon arrival at the airport or at the Georgian or Iranian borders which was of course a tedious work to many UAE residents. The agreement also stated that a consulate would be opened in Dubai, one of the famous emirates in the UAE.

Also read: 5 reasons to visit Dubai in 2017

Before the new visa policies, Armenia had only one type of visa i.e. the visitor visa. But the new policies have seen an induction of three other visas namely the Official visa – for holders of official or service passports, Diplomatic visa – for holders of diplomatic passports and for the persons with diplomatic status, and finally the transit visa.

Visa-free regime exists for citizens of many countries, including USA, EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Luxembourg, Cyprus, Greece, Hungary, Malta, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Sweden, Czech Republic, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, France, Croatia), Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Vatican, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, Montenegro.

In addition, visa requirements are not applicable to citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay and former USSR republics, namely Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Read: Exploring Armenia and its beautiful sights

Indians with UAE residence visa now get visa upon arrival in Armenia. This is a great opportunity for Indians having in mind that there’re thousands of Indians possessing UAE residence visas. Indians residing in Qatar, Kuwait, Oman and Bahrain are also enjoying visa upon arrival in Armenia.

Previously, citizens of India could not obtain Armenian visa upon arrival only for the exception of Indians holding a diplomatic passport who can visit Armenia for up to 30 days and without a visa requirement.

Citizens of many countries can get a visa upon their arrival to Armenia at the airport or at the border with Georgia or Iran. These includes citizens of Iran, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Albania, Macedonia, Bosnia, Serbia, Israel, Lebanon, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, Oman, Yemen, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Philippines, Canada, Mongolia, Maldives, Bhutan, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore,  Brunei, East Timor, Korea, Japan just to name a few.

Nearly all African nations plus other countries like Saudi Arabia, Palestine, Nepal, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Syria, Sri Lanka and Vietnam can apply for visitor visa only at the diplomatic representations and consular posts of Republic of Armenia abroad and with invitation only. But this does not mean they can obtain a visa upon arrival. No!

It is also important to consider that citizens of People’s Republic of China, the Republic of India, and the Republic of Iraq can apply for visitor visa only at the diplomatic representations and consular posts of Republic of Armenia abroad without invitation.

Let’s go Armenia! Let’s Experience Armenia! Let’s Discover Armenia!!!

  • , , ,